Too, Black

Standard

This is a must read.
#Media #CulturalStudies #Race #Storytelling #Truth

Susan X Jane

It always stars with the question, first in the eyes, hesitating on the way to the lips but determined to come out:  what are you?  Every mixed race person say amen.  For as long as I can remember, people have puzzled over my features, my hair, my skin color to piece together my race.  The question, and the response we arrive at together has more to do with the questioner than you may think.  And that interaction tells us more about race in America how far we’ve come and the morass ahead.

At the risk of dating myself, as little background is necessary.  I was born in November 1969– a child of the summer of love in Boston, when only a few years later the bus riots would mar forever this city’s already checkered racial history. I was adopted as a baby, but adoption then was a different animal.  A…

View original post 1,581 more words

Leave a Reply

