Thesis Feedback Reflection

Standard

THE FIRST RESPONSE

That moment I have been waiting for…
I sent in the first draft of my thesis and today I received feedback from one professor. (I still have two more to hear from.)

I cannot lie, the minute I saw the email- a little anxiety built up in me. On the one hand I was excited and the other hand major nerves was building around that the feedback would actually say. It was great feedback but it highlighted what I was afraid of…

I need to immerse more in my truth. I need to add more of my voice and perspective as a Black woman- an African American woman- a woman of African descent born and living in America. I really have to talk about the experience of writing and performing a one woman show exploring my identity and voice.

I will not lie. I think a part of me knee that I was going to have to add more but I was hoping at the same time at what I provided was enough. This process of writing this thesis has brought up so much for me in terms of what I have not been facing- my truth.

How funny is it that today of all days I would see a quote that stated that if I am afraid of the truth then I am not ready to be a writer.  Womp womp.
That quote really struck a chord within me. I almost wanted to run in a corner and hide but that’s been a safety net for way too long.

I realize in order to answer the questions that she wants me to explore for myself, I have to let down my wall. Embrace vulnerability and transparency. Woooooo saaaaaaa!

This has always been my struggle.

What does it mean to be both Black and female in America?

image

I believe this is a question that I have to explore for myself but based on the history of Black women in America, I already have an answer to that. But to create my own self-definition outside of America’s racist, sexist and classist ideologies that hold Black women’s identity in box which breeds ignorance and misunderstanding is the challenge.

Leave a Reply

